Skip to content

TSTool / Command / SetDebugLevel


The SetDebugLevel command sets the debug levels for screen and log file diagnostic messages. This command can be used multiple times with different debug level (e.g., to isolate a problem). Currently the debug level applies to all components. In the future logging control may be grouped by component. Levels are not completely consistent but the following guidelines can be followed:

  • 0 = no messages
  • 1 = important messages generated in applications
  • 2 = important messages generated in commands
  • 3+ = messages generated in commands that may explain other problems
  • 10+ = messages in processing code that may still be useful to end users
  • 30+ = low-level messages, for example generated while reading from files or databases

Command Editor

The following dialog is used to edit the command and illustrates the command syntax.


SetDebugLevel Command Editor Showing Conditions Test (see also the full-size image)

Command Syntax

The command syntax is as follows:


Command Parameters

Parameter                           Description Default          
ScreenLevel The debug level for the screen (0+). Keep previous setting.
LogFileLevel The debug level for the log file (0+). Keep previous setting.


See the automated tests.


See Also